Technical Paper and Poster Session Winners Announced for CAMX 2019

CAMX recognizes outstanding composites research from students, engineers, and industry professionals

September 26, 2019 (Anaheim, CA) CAMX – The Composites and Advanced Materials Expo is proud to announce the CAMX 2019 Technical Paper Award and Poster Session winners. Every year, CAMX recognizes outstanding research that will impact the next generation of composites innovation. CAMX technical papers cover critical areas important to the composites and advanced materials industry from business, applications, and research perspectives. Poster sessions put the work of the next generation of researchers, engineers and industry professionals on display.

This year’s Outstanding Technical Paper winners are:

  • Christopher Hershey, Oak Ridge National Laboratory – Large-Scale Reactive Extrusion Deposition of Sparse Infill Structures with Solid Perimeters
  • Kuang-Ting Hsiao, University of South Alabama – Modeling Transversal Support from Nanofiber Z-Threads to a Carbon Fiber by Finite Element Analysis of a CFRP Unit Cell
  • Vipin Kumar, Oak Ridge National Laboratory – Replacing Metal-Based Lightning Strike Protection Layer of CFRPS by 3D Printed Electronically Conductive Polymer Layer
  • Ray Liang, West Virginia University NSF Center for Composites Infrastructure – Worldwide Overview of Composite Applications for Waterway Infrastructure
  • Yijia Ma, University of Southern California – Chemical Recycling of Amine/Epoxy Composites at Atmospheric Pressure: Fiber Recovery and Matrix Reuse
  • Marc Palardy-Sim, National Research Council Canada – Advances in a Next Generation Measurement & Inspection System for Automated Fibre Placement
  • David Sleight, NASA Langley Research Center – Testing and Analysis Correlation of Composite Sandwich Longitudinal Bonded Joints for Space Launch Vehicle Structures
  • Kazunori Takagaki, Mitsubishi Electric – Internal Strain Monitoring of CFRP Laminates During Moisture Absorption/Desorption Using Distributed Optical Fiber Sensors

This year’s Poster Session winners are:


  • Dr. John Misasi, PhD; Cecile Grubb; Derek Ciampi, Western Washington University – Properties of Epoxy Matrix Materials after Chemical Recycling of Carbon Fiber Prepreg

First Runner Up

  • Matthew C. Hartline; Hayden A. Hanna; David E. Garcia; Jeffrey S. Wiggins, University of Southern Mississippi – Controlling Graphene Nanoplatelet Dispersions through Cure of High-Performance Thermoset Matrices

Second Runner Up

  • Colleen M. Murray; Sagar M. Doshi; Erik T. Thostenson, University of Delaware – In Situe Sensing of Damage Progression in Composites Using Glass Fibers with Electrophoretically Deposited Nanotubes

Third Runner Up

    Dr. Davood Askari; Ramanan Sritharan; Nicholas Reyes, Wichita State University – Effects of Carbon Nanotubes Geometries on Flexural Properties and Shear Strength of Laminated Polymeric Nanocomposites

For more information, visit