CAMX Announces Technical Paper and Poster Session Winners

CAMX recognizes outstanding composites research from students, engineers and industry professionals

September 28, 2016 (Anaheim, Calif.).) CAMX – The Composites and Advanced Materials Expo is proud to announce the CAMX 2016 Technical Paper Award and Poster Session winners. Every year, CAMX recognizes outstanding research that will impact the next generation of composites innovation. CAMX technical papers cover critical areas important to the composites and advanced materials industry from business, applications, and research perspectives. Poster sessions put the work of the next generation of researchers, engineers and industry professionals on display.

This year’s Technical Paper Award winners are:

  • James Nelson, 3M – Improved Performance of Filament-Wound Composite Drive Shafts with Next Generation Inorganic Nanoparticle-Filled Epoxy Resins
  • Mohamed Hashish, Flow International – Waterjet Capabilities for Aeroengine Manufacturing Needs
  • Geena Ferrelli, The Aerospace Corporation – Lightweight Replicated Composite Mirrors using UV Cured Resin
  • Amit Naskar, Oak Ridge National Laboratory – Renewable Thermoplastics from Lignin with Exceptional Properties and their Composites
  • Stephen Tsai, Stanford University – Direct Laminate Selection for Simultaneous Weight Reduction, and, Strength and Layup Speed Increase
  • Stephen Scarborough, ILC Dover – Demonstration of an Inflatable, Collapsible Pressure Intensifier for Out-of-Autoclave Composite Processing Using BMI Prepreg
  • Richard Hreha, Cornerstone Research Group – Advances in MG Resin Composite and Processing for High Temperature Applications
  • Ryan Toivola, University of Washington – Time Temperature Indicator Film for Monitoring Composite Repair Adhesive Cure using Thermochromic Fluorescent Molecules

This year’s Poster Session winner comes from Lorena Fernández-Cañadas, Inés Iváñez, and Sonia Sanchez-Saez from the University Carlos III of Madrid and Ever Barbero from West Virginia University for their paper, Influence of the Adhesive Thickness on the Energy Release Rate of Adhesively-Bonded Composite Repairs. The runner ups in the Poster Session were:

  • Thomas Mustard, Jeffrey Sanders, Matthew Halls, Alexander Goldberg, Shaun Kwak, Jacob Gavartin, and Stephen Christensen, Schrodinger, Inc. – Atomic-Scale Simulation for the Analysis and Optimization of Advanced Thermoset Composites
  • Patrice Cousin, Pierre Olvaque, and Mathieu Robert, University of Sherbrooke -An Example of Application of Milkweed Fiber: Door Panels for Automotive Applications
  • Rita Johnson and Brian Flinn, University of Washington – Surface Characterization Using Inverse Gas Chromatography (Igc) Methods

For more information, visit